Book Review:: City of Heavenly Fire – Cassandra Clare

tumblr_nzlbdvhfT51surgbmo1_500tumblr_nzlbdvhfT51surgbmo3_500

Date started: January 18, 2016

Date ended: February 6, 2016

Stars: ★★★★★

Wow, I can’t believe it’s all over. When I first picked up the book it was a little daunting with how thick the book was but at the end 725 pages was not enough. Once again, we visit the fascinating world of Shadowhunters and Downworlders, which has always intrigued me with it’s rich and colorful world, which is not unlike our own. The characters, so true and charismatic, including those few twisted ones, have all contributed to making this one of my favorite book series of all time. Add in some adventure, romance, and humor, and you’ve got a recipe for success. But then again, that’s how this whole series has been. Personally, I think the only book in this series that was a let down was the fourth, City of Fallen Angels, but even then I gave that book three stars. Again, I may be biased but “frankly my dear, I don’t give a damn.”

The final installment of The Mortal Instruments was nothing short of unforgettable. There were so many things I loved with it, but also things I regretted. I guess with a book series as large as this one it would be hard, if not impossible, to address everything. All in all, City of Heavenly Fire was deeply affecting, a real page-turner with both heartbreaking and truly happy moments. Few books have managed to touch me this way.

There is a war in this book. The end-of-the-world type of war, and however cliche that may sound, let me assure you, it is not. Maybe, just maybe, I’m too invested in this series, but I found the build up to be realistic. The war will bring destruction, but it will also pave the way to a hopefully brighter future. Though there is an ominous underlying that this may not be the case if the Fey have anything to say about it. It will shape the lives of the survivors, and lead to the ascension of new warriors.

Essentially, The Mortal Instruments is a story about bravery and sacrifice and friendship, and encircling all of these, is love and compassion. It’s about caring about others and about the world we live in and how one can make it better. That’s what I’m taking away from this story.

tumblr_o38plv3MJk1txdtmyo1_500I am also stepping up my expectations of men, no matter how overly exaggerated that expectation it is. But, if my next boyfriend is not anywhere close to as awesome as Jace Herondale is, or I’ll even take a smidge,  I have no use for you. I might be forever alone but that’s okay.

I will miss  the gang (really, miss is putting it lightly, I will probably agonize over the loss of them) because I essentially grew up with them. I will miss the world that Cassandra Clare painted for us all. Maybe revisit a time or two to say hello. But, I will wait with baited breath hoping to maybe read some cameo appearances of them in The Dark Artifices, which comes out in little over a month! March 8th for those who don’t know. One can only hope!

Leave a Reply

