Book Review:: Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children – Ransom Riggs

Date started: January 10, 2016

Date finished: February 22, 2016

Stars: ★★★★

Okay, I know what you all are thinking.

This is a start to a new series?! She said she wasn’t going to do that! 

First, I will claim that I am weak when it comes to books. If I want to read it, then I’ll find a way to read it. My excuse for this one is good though, I promise. I have a personal promise to myself that I never see a movie that is based on a book without reading the book first. Yes, I know, it’s a lot but that’s just a personal preference. So, Liz (my friend and bookclub cohort) told me that Miss Peregrine’s is being made into a movie and will be out in September. Therefore, it is up for grabs. Another excuse I used, was that when I finish this resolution, I promised my self that I would try to only read series where all the books were published and the series was over. That way I don’t end up in the conundrum that I am currently in. Again, a tall order but I do claim that I am only human who loves to read.

But enough of this, onto the review!

tumblr_nxz6ufmwX21qaw514o1_500

First of all, I had no idea what to expect going into this book. It’s like one part fantasy, another part adventure, then throw in my mother’s eccentric scrap booking and you have Miss Peregrine’s. When I first picked it up I wasn’t thrilled that it was a male narrator, it’s not a personal preference of mine but I never say never. The story doesn’t exactly start off with a bang and when I first looked at the novel and then started reading, I checked to make sure I was reading the same book. Florida. Sunshine. How the hell is this the set of a horror novel?! But once again, like some books do, once I started I just couldn’t stop. I was enthralled.

Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children centers on Jacob, a young boy who shares a heart-warming bond with his grandfather, a man who filled his head from a young age with endless mysterious yet wondrous tales of people with amazing power and monsters. Growing up though, his faith in his grandfather’s stories grew into doubt. But, as an unfortunate tragedy befalls Jacob, he begins to think he’s lost his mind-and is told as much. He is left with only a riddle, a puzzle, that he must solve to understand the murder of his grandfather. He begins to believe wholeheartedly that the only way to solve his problems would be to go back to where it all started- to where his grandfather started. He finds himself in a bleak island and stumbles into the broken old house where his grandfather used to live, the place that he will find the truth about himself and everything else.

From the very start, I was at ease with the way the book was written and was in love with how the author conveyed words. I never knew that such simple sentences could be so haunting and beautiful. The way Jacob’s character was portrayed was really good. Even though I usually have a hard time relating to a boy’s point of view, I found Jacob interesting. I really liked him because he wasn’t your typical sixteen-year-old dude. He has a unique personality. Although at times, I did forget he was sixteen. Sometimes he seemed too mature. I don’t think this hurt his character, there are lots of mature teens out there, and it’s fresh to see them in YA. I grew to understand his relationship with his grandfather. I grew to understand his curiosity and restlessness, and overtime, his peculiarity.

tumblr_o45hf5QFtR1rzq72so1_500

Although I enjoyed reading Jacob, my favorite character would be Emma. I know I can’t resist a feisty heroine, but her ability fits her personality and I adored that. It was a little creepy with the whole Emma and his grandfather and now Emma and his relationship, but I could understand it as well.

Another character that I enjoyed was Millard! How awesome is it that he’s invisible? And aside that, I found him totally hilarious!! I really did love all the peculiar children. Each were just so unique and yet relatable.

Miss Peregrine’s is a really amazing book.The setting, the characters, the plot, the photos were weaved together beautifully to create a wonderful, one-of-a-kind story that surely leaves a great impression upon the reader. I wouldn’t consider the ending as a cliff-hanger but it was open ended. It does have a sense of moving forward, making you anticipate the next book.

 

Leave a Reply

