Book Review:: The Darkest Minds – Alexandra Bracken

Date started: March 11, 2016

Date ended: March 17, 2016

Stars: ★★★★★

MARCH PICK FOR THE ROYALS BOOKCLUB

To be honest, this was a last minute change for The Royals. We were originally supposed to read The Keeper of the Mist by Rachel Neumeier, but since February was so short, money was a little short and we didn’t want to buy a hardcover. That’s only partly true but the point of the matter was we changed it last minute to The Darkest Minds, and boy, I was not disappointed.

Liz and I had been looking to begin this series for about awhile now, but never found it in a library and we got caught up with other books. So, after our great experience with Bracken in February, we decided why the hell not!

So these are my thoughts, emotions, and reactions to The Darkest Minds.

First, the leading lady, Ruby. LOVE LOVE LOVE. I liked that, at first, she seemed to be a pretty average main character. She didn’t claim to be something extraordinary, and the reader is left trying to guess what she is, as is she. This immediately puts the reader in the main characters shoes, which is what I live for. I admire when an author can create a captivating character without trying too hard. That is an amazing talent because if you try to little then you can end up with a flat character, Bella Swan, try just enough and you get Ruby!

darkest

Secondly, IANN was an extremely clever idea for a disease! It was unique and hadn’t been done before. Revolutionary like the Games in The Hunger Games. But in all honesty, I wasn’t completely sure of what each color did what because only a couple were explained and the rest I was throwing spaghetti at the wall hoping it would stick. I wish Bracken, when explaining IANN had devoted a little to each color and what they represented. I actually had to Google what they meant. I can see where Bracken was going, keeping the audience guessing and creating mystery but after a while, I was ready to know what the

Next, Clancy freaking Gray. I don’t even know where to start but I have to talk about him. Anyone else who read the book can agree the president’s son is a creepy mofo. I felt extremely sorry for Ruby, Liam, Zu and Chubs when they finally reached East River, They had the expectation that they would finally be safe for once. But, it turns out the Slip Kid, the savoir for these kids, turns out to be just as corrupt as the government they’re running from. What’s worse is he made Ruby trust him and teaches her about being an Orange, then he uses his powers to mind rape her! I was shocked and disgusted, but it was a moment for the audience to see how unique Ruby is. Yes, she doesn’t know that much about her power, she terrified of it, doesn’t want to use it at all, we see that multiple times. The fact that all these Oranges have no empathy makes them monsters like they’ve been portrayed. Ruby shows the other hand, making her a heroine. Bracken, once again, did a great job with creating a villain so evil that you didn’t even notice. As the Slip Kid, he seemed safe so people like me, believed he was a saving grace, and then the betrayal was felt so deep, I couldn’t believe

Overall, The Darkest Minds was an amazing book, I have seen both positive and negative reviews, but for this girl, I loved it. I’m so excited to read the next book, Never Fade, it has moved to the top of my to-read list. I have a good feeling about this series, and the first book was definitely a success

Leave a Reply

