Book Review:: Clockwork Angel – Cassandra Clare

tumblr_o10cgs9hCh1ue5q7po1_500Date started: March 17, 2016

Date ended: March 20, 2016

Stars: ★★★★★

THIS WAS SO GREAT. I’m so glad that I finally picked it up! Yes, I know another book series that I started, and no, I don’t have a good excuse. All I can claim is that I missed the world that Clare creates and the characters she develops.

“One must always be careful of books,” said Tessa, “and what is inside them, for words have the power to change us.”

As you have read from my previous reviews about Clare’s work, I honestly never thought this could be that good. I had grown up with Clary and the gang, so there was no way that Clockwork Angel, I was expecting amazing work, naturally. To be honest, I think this series is better! Yes, I know, better. This book was art, a fine peace of art. I read it in three days. Literally couldn’t put the book down for a second. I didn’t sleep! I worked and I read, I didn’t want to leave London. I love Downton Abbey, and this was a combination of the bad ass Shadowhunter families I grew up with but with the elegance of Downton Abbey.

The plot is beyond goodness. This book is about Tessa, an American girl coming from New York to London in search of her brother. Clare immediately sends the reader into a tizzy because things go wrong from the onset. Her brother, Nathaniel, isn’t there and she is taken by the Dark Sisters. She learns fairly quickly that there is a whole new world she didn’t know about. Where terms like Downworlders, Nephilim and Shadowhunters are commonly used. Her path will cross with that of the Shadowhunters and with them she will figure what happened to her brother, but like always there is something lurking behind the scenes. She also discovers her special abilities and grows a lot of questions about herself. She is rescued from the Dark house by Will and he sends her to the Institute. There she finds more about the Downworlders, Shadowhunters, and other mysterious paranormal things.Also, she is caught up in a love triangle between two friends. Something that will change the foundation of both the mundane and magical world.

tumblr_o4aq36xo231ulcf91o1_500I adored the romance in this book, because the book needed it, it creates such a dynamic between the characters but Clare doesn’t make a big deal about it. Yes, it is a side plot and the reader falls in love with both Will and Jem, but it isn’t the main plot. I really liked that. The bonding between characters was so natural and seemed quite real.

After reading The Mortal Instruments, I thought it couldn’t get better. Obviously, I was wrong. The cast of characters are utterly compelling and you’re drawn to them almost right away. I love Clare’s leading ladies, Clary and Tessa, they both are strong female characters. They are heroines that I looked up to and I think other girls should too. I will read these series to my daughter, if/when I have one. The action certainly did not disappoint, and is one of the reasons why I just can’t get enough of these books.

Leave a Reply

