Book Review:: Never Fade – Alexandra Bracken

Date started: March 27, 2016

Date ended: March 31, 2016 

Stars: ★★★★★

Abso-freaking-lutely amazing.

To be honest, I had to take a break from this series. I think it was all the Bracken I was reading. But I couldn’t wait to get my paws on Never Fade I wasn’t disappointed. This is a swoon-worthy sequel that had me hyperventilating from page one to page.

In case you’re not familiar with the plot, then let me catch you up. In the first book, Ruby, as sixteen-year-old girl wanders about after breaking out from Thurmond (a rehabilitation facility) when she meets some kids from the League of Children, an organization led by a former politician, who wants to take down the current governor of the United States. Ruby is an Orange, meaning she can get inside people’s head, see their memories, take control of them. In the first book she’s not able to control her powers all that well which is why when she touches the hand of a member of the League of Children, she sees his memory of killing two children mercilessly because he thought they were worthless. She then runs away and comes across, Liam, Chubs and Zu and the adventure begins.

tumblr_o5wrsorK8d1qkkf5to1_1280

Ruby has evolved so much in the sequel, it’s impossible to think of her as that fragile, broken little girl she was when all of this began. Now, she’s working with the League and runs ops for them. But something is brewing inside the League, someone is trying to take control and do as they please with those they deem worthless. With the help of Jude and Vida, fellow LoC members, she must retrieve the lost item that Liam’s brother, Cole, lost. Liam is unaware of the existence of such a stick sewn inside the jacket, which he took from his last visit home, and was his brothers. So, that means Ruby has to search for Liam.

Don’t worry, there’s a lot of your favorite characters from the first book but a lot of new faces as well, I promise you, you’re going to love the new characters. Jude is really young and he’s so protective it’s kind of cute. He’ll sink his hooks into your heart and not let go. There’s Vida, and you’ll hate her, at first. She’s badass, and “bitch” is her favorite word, but you’re gonna warm up to her.

There are lots of twists, lots of unpredictable moments, and an ending that had me in tears looking like this:

Bracken is brilliant and a fantastic storyteller. If you liked (or loved) the first book, then I don’t doubt that you’ll like this as much. In my case, I loved the first book and loved this book even more, because of the character development, and evolution of the world, that’s been taken to a whole new level.

Right now I am totally flabbergasted and in a whole truckload of denial. That did not just happen; I refuse to accept it. I wanted to reach out and stop Ruby but I was powerless against what is in print. I cannot wait to read the third installment of The Darkest Minds trilogy.

Leave a Reply

