Book Review:: Clockwork Princess – Cassandra Clare

Date started: April 21, 2016

Date ended: April 26, 2016 

Stars: ★★★★★

And if the Thames that ran beside them, sure and silver in the afternoon light, recalled a night long ago when the moon shone as brightly as a shilling on this same boy and girl, or if the stones of Blackfriars knew the tread of their feet and thought to themselves: At last, the wheel comes full circle, they kept their silence.

I write this review with snot all over my shirt and tears still in my eyes. Gross I know but I needed to write down all the emotional turmoil I am feeling. Wow, what a brilliant series. You all know my infatuation with Clare and her Mortal Instruments series but The Infernal Devices make them look like mere child’s play. I think I claimed on my blog, if not I did so in my head, that from the first book Clockwork Angel I thought that I liked this series more. If not, then here I am stating that YES, IT IS. How am I sure? Well, first things first.

I did not cry as hard when I finished City of Heavenly Fire. Oh, don’t get me wrong, there were tears but I was so emotional at the end of Clockwork Princess I had to read aloud so that I could fully feel the story. I was sobbing – honestly, ugly crying is a more fitting term – hysterically. I felt the love between Tessa, Will, and Jem. It wasn’t something fleeting, not a normal teenage romance, and I think Clare’s writing is extraordinary because, from the beginning, the reader could feel that. I believe that I said in my review of Clockwork Prince that I didn’t care who Tessa ended up with because I thought both gentlemen were fabulous for her, but that I did lean more towards Jem. But the way Clare wraps up the romance was perfect. It was well thought out and beautiful. It was pure. Never once was either man out of Tessa’s heart. There was a different love and enough room in her heart, that both held a special part but it never took away from her affection for the other.

Throughout Clockwork Prince and Clockwork Princess, the reader sees and feels the
heartbreak that all three characters go through. None of them are spared. But that’s because they love each other immensely and entirely. It’s unselfish and pure and that was so unique to read in a Young Adult novel. Yes, normally the girl loves one boy more than the other in the triangle, but not for this novel. The reader is caught in this web where no one will survive without a broken heart, and yet, there is a happy ending for all. I couldn’t have asked for a better ending.

princess.png

I know I keep babbling on about the love triangle but that is a center part that needs to be resolved in the series. Clare’s stunning writing is spectacular and not atypical. The other romances in the book are perfect too. Some I saw coming and others were totally out of the blue but weren’t forced. They too were beautiful in their own way.

Another thing I loved about the novel was the complexity of Tess Gray’s heritage. This was another loose end that desperately needed to be resolved. It was brilliant! There wasn’t just a mundane answer, no, there was depth and mystery and betrayal and trickery, God, it was beautiful. I was reading it and out loud I couldn’t hold in my incredulity.

Overall, and once again, Cassandra Clare writes a masterpiece full of romance, adventure, and characters that you dearly wish were real. The writing is colorful and exquisite, sinking its hooks into the reader and not letting go until the very last period. Even if you did not enjoy The Mortal Instruments series please do yourself a favor and try The Infernal Devices. Clare out did herself on this one and it stands way above her previous series. I think, in all honesty, that this might have been the best series I have ever read.

Leave a Reply

