Book Review:: The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian – Sherman Alexie

Date started: May 6, 2016

Date ended: May 10, 2016 

Stars: ★★★★★

If you let people into your life a little bit, they can be pretty damn amazing.

Now this book completely caught me off guard. I expected this to be just another light and easy read (in some ways, it was and in others, not so much). I didn’t expect it to become one of my favorite books of the year so far. But it did. The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian is such a heartwarming and hilarious novel. I am part-Indian myself and have had my share of experiences with  the issues that Alexie talks about in his book, but I wasn’t expecting the in-depth heartbreaking details he went into. Now, he does have a nice balance of humor with the heartbreak, which is what life is all about I suppose. but Alexie has the art of shock factor in this book. It had so many twists that everything in the story would be fine, and then in one line, something major would happen that made my jaw drop and make me think ‘What the hell just happened?!‘. That was just one of the reasons why I ended up liking this book so much.

Another reason I loved this book is because I love and respect the man who wrote it, Sherman Alexie. I’ve read many of his previous novels and I fall in love every time. His writing is heartbreakingly beautiful because of it’s honest. He doesn’t sugarcoat anything, just lays all of it out on the table and makes you ponder about things. Which is the quality of a truly great author! When I found out The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian was based loosely on the experiences of Alexie’s life, I knew I would enjoy it immensely. It did not disappoint.

tumblr_nxg24d7gcs1u8apxxo1_500

One other thing that caught me by surprise was this book was funny. Now I don’t mean ha-ha funny, I mean literally rolling on the flooring laughing. Now I was expecting humor because it is told in the POV of a 14-year-old boy, but I wasn’t expecting my cheeks and ribs to hurt afterwards. At other parts, it was really sad. It actually surprised me how I fluctuated between emotions so quickly and easily. But mostly, this book was funny.

Another sign of great writing. The reason why this book was so funny is the main character, Arnold Spirit Junior. He’s seriously one of the nicest characters ever. I loved his narration and how he would say random lines that would make me crack up. I got the joy of listening to this book and it was narrated by Sherman Alexie and his inflection and emotion really made me love the character. But I’ll stop gushing about my love of Sherman Alexie. If you haven’t yet read this, please, please, please give it a shot. It truly is a wonderful and touching story that will stay in your thoughts long after you’ve closed the book.

Leave a Reply

