Book Review:: In the Afterlight – Alexandra Bracken

Date started: May 10, 2016

Date ended: May 17, 2016 

Stars: ★★★★★

“It is the fire. The spark. Black is the color of memory. It is our color. The only one they’ll use to tell our story.”

I can’t believe it’s over. I want to dive back into the pages of Bracken’s world and never leave. Although Into the Afterlight, for me, started out really slow and continued to be slow, I know a lot happened but it really didn’t feel like anything was happening. Like the reader is waiting for the big throw down to happen with the government and to liberate the children from the camps, like the plot was moving forward, but for me, it was a slow build up. I was overall, thrilled with how the story ended, the riding off into the sunset scene (literally) that closed the novel. It was very satisfying. Liam Stewart will forever be on my list of fictional boyfriends I will never get over and that I will visit often.

afterlight.png

So, as I said before, the plot was a little slow but then towards the end, the shit hit the fan and it was on. Everything spiraled downward (but in a good way), the characters took action, camps were liberated, the government overthrown, someone was (finally) shot (sadly, not killed), I wish I could say that no one that I loved died, but alas, that would be a lie. Finally, they all rode into the sunset, content for their lives that were about to start. The characters were well developed from the first book, I actually felt that I knew them and what they were thinking. I managed to fall in love (again and again) with Liam and Chubs. I LOVE THE RELATIONSHIP BETWEEN CHUBS AND VIDA! I TOTALLY CALLED THAT! When I put myself into the shoes of Ruby, I felt that all her actions and emotions were justified. I was so angry with the gang when they thought she was siding with Cole too much. She was just doing what she knew would benefit them the most, but they selfishly were thinking of their small little group. Now, I understand why they were thinking it, but at the same time, don’t turn against the one person you know is being selfless and trying to make the world a better place the only way she knows.

I know I’m gushing but I’m also trying not to ruin too much of the book for those of you who want to read this series. Well, more than I already have, so I don’t know what more to write. For you Bracken fans out there, you won’t be disappointed. For Liam and Ruby fans, you won’t be disappointed. For Chubs, Zu, and Vida fans, you’ll be ecstatic. So much happens with all of the main characters and beyond, that this book is chalk full of adventure, romance, sacrifice, heartbreak, and triumph, for everyone who has followed them since the beginning, the ending is just as sweet.

 

 

Leave a Reply

