Book Review:: Fangirl – Rainbow Rowell

Date started: May 18, 2016

Date ended: May 19, 2016 

Stars: ★★★★★

I can’t remember the last time that I read a realistic fiction novel in one day, but I couldn’t put Fangirl down. This is my first Rainbow Rowell novel and I tell you now, it won’t be my last. I have a couple that was already on my to-read list but I have now added all of them. The next one on my list is, of course, Carry On. I have been hearing of Rainbow Rowell novels for years now, and I’m sad it’s taken me so long, but I’m a little nervous of the John Green effect. To explain, the first John Green book was The Fault in Our Stars, and that beautiful bundle of emotion set a precedent that was not met when I read Paper Towns. So, that’s why I decided to read Carry On next because it was introduced in Fangirl and I’m already in love. I wish Rowell would write all of the Simon Snow novels.

fangirl

I really related to this book but in waves. I am an extrovert and Cath is an introvert and in the beginning, I had a really hard time with her character because I related more to Wren. But as time went on she grew on me and I liked her. There were a few times that I didn’t understand her motivation and wanted to shake her and yell, but then it would all make sense. By the end, Cath was my main woman and it was Wren  I wanted to shake. I loved how honest Rowell was in her writing. It’s like she understood what it’s like to be a twin (which I don’t know, she could be) but also, her writing with the growing pains of the first year of college. The freedom, the loneliness, and homesickness. All the characters were relatable in one way or another. I absolutely adored Reagan and Levi is permanently on my list of book boyfriends. I was a little worried about the first love premise in this book because I thought Levi would turn out to be like a Michael from Judy Blume’s Forever … but thank God, he was a magically wonderful as I thought. I definitely thought the love interest was going to be with Cath’s writing partner, Nick, but I’m so glad that douche got his in the end.

 

This book was beautiful and it has immediately been moved to the top of my to-buy list, I will re-read this story multiple times because it deals with real issues but not in a way that makes it feel like you’re reading life. Overall, five stars and two thumbs WAY WAY up fro Rainbow Rowell’s Fangirl.

The library better have Carry On ASAP.

Leave a Reply

