Book Review:: The Raven Boys – Maggie Stiefvater

tumblr_o79pyuAFgX1s8katio1_1280Date started: June 18, 2016

Date ended: June 21, 2016 

Stars: ★★★★

I caved with this one. I’ve been bad and have really deviated from my I will not start another series without completing the ones I already have but I just kept seeing all the bloggers and Booklrs I follow gush about The Raven King and how  The Raven Cycle is one of the best series they had read in awhile. So, I decided to take a chance. Let me tell you, I was not anticipating anything that this book delivered, I had an idea in my head based on the synopsis but it was not even close to what the book was about. The Raven Boys is listed as paranormal and romance but it is so much more than that. It has real life issues like abuse and death. It may be a fantasy title, but it brings so much more to the table.

I will say it was a slow start, but that’s why I have a personal rule to always read at least 100 pages before I call it quits on a book. I’m certainly glad I did with this book. I also don’t normally like YA novels told from a male POV because I like to put myself in the main characters position and head space and it’s harder to do with the opposite sex. But with all the different types and characteristics of the boys and Blue, I was able to relate to each and every single one of them. I bonded with them over certain issues or personality traits. Also, Blue’s family reminded me of my family. Everyone is in each others business and there’s no personal space. It shows brilliant writing when a reader is able to find themselves and their friends and family in all the characters of a novel. Well done, Steifvater.

tumblr_o3d3mt4kMi1s8katio1_1280

I love that this is a ghost story, a love story, and an adventure novel. Those are three big kahunas to roll in a 400-page novel. I have already reserved The Dream Thieves from the library and will hopefully have it before I go on vacation. I highly recommend this novel to those looking for a summer vacation at home, or looking for another vacation on their vacation. It will not disappoint either way!

Leave a Reply

