Book Review:: The Last Star – Rick Yancey

tumblr_o73a16Pqp81ughsbwo1_1280Date started: July 3, 2016

Date ended: July 8, 2016 

Stars: ★★★★★

JUNE PICK FOR THE ROYALS BOOKCLUB

Wow. Just wow. I can’t believe it’s over. I want more, I want more! Damn, all you ask for at the end of a series is closure. A clean out from the story, the atmosphere, and the characters. When you get that, plus the author leaves you wanting more, that’s great writing. It means the story embedded itself into your mind and your soul. The Last Star makes you feel a whole range of emotions: fear, triumph, sadness, hopelessness, happiness, despair. I know a lot of you may not have gotten around to reading the last installment of The 5th Wave trilogy, so I’m trying to be discreet and not spoil anything. Overall, I loved this series. I loved the characters. I was able to relate to all of them in any given situation. I loved the adventure and the need to survive with them. When someone didn’t survive, when the enemy took a comrade, I felt it in my bones. True tears of sadness ran down my cheeks. I’ve read The War of the Worlds by HG Wells, I liked it but like the majority of classics, you can tell it’s dated. I liked that The 5th Wave series brought some classic alien invasion aspects to the table, as well as the emotions of survival at all costs and the hopelessness of the apocalypse.

I am not a fan of alien novels. I said this when I started this series. Not that I won’t give them a chance if given to me, but the majority I’ve read are not my cup of tea. Also, ever since I was a kid and was forced to watch Invasion of the Body Snatchers, I don’t mess with aliens. I don’t know if they’re real or not. I like to think they aren’t, but one never knows. That, in itself, terrifies me. Something that annoys me about most sci-fi novels is they have ridiculously hard names for things and they talk about the ship and parts and other unpronounceable things and that annoys me. I don’t like to be made to feel dumb if that makes sense. This was not the case with Yancey’s trilogy.

Processed with VSCO with g3 preset

I have recommended this series to numerous people, especially right before the movie came out, and they have been so grateful. Yancey’s apocalyptic world is intoxicating to the last page and leaves the reader wanting more. The characters are all so developed from when you first met them. They feel like family and if anything were to happen to them, a piece of you would die with them. The world is real, the story could happen tomorrow or in the next five minutes (though please Lord no!). The novel motivates me to workout so I can run away from Silencers!

I’m sad that it’s over. I’m sad some characters aren’t with us anymore. I feel empty for those left without their family and friends. But there is closure. We survived. If only just for now.

Leave a Reply

