Book Review:: The Dream Thieves -Maggie Stiefvater

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

Date started: July 9, 2016

Date ended: July 15, 2016 

Stars: ★★★★

I don’t know where to begin. I’m not going to start a rant, I like this series, but I don’t love this series like I feel others do. I felt that The Dream Thieves was definitely better-paced plot wise than The Raven Boys, but there were still chunks of times I remember thinking, why is this relevant? Some of these instances became clearer in the end, but other times they didn’t, maybe it’s all part of an elaborate plot line that won’t become clear until The Raven King, I guess I’m in for the long haul.

But, with The Dream Thieves, I love that we get to know Ronan more. I felt like he was just one of those misunderstood characters when we first meet him and for the most part, I was right. There is a lot of depth and complexity to Ronan Lynch. He’s honest to a fault, I’m that type of person, so I love that there’s a character that will say whatever he is thinking, whatever he is feeling, and won’t sugarcoat anything just to avoid hurting someone.

tumblr_o2g2keI9Rd1uyp070o2_1280

I love his compassion and loyalty towards Gansey. It’s another thing I can relate too. But that’s something I love about all the boys. I also appreciated how natural the friendships between the boys and Blue are. Plus that heartwarming, heart wrecking scene with her and Noah. Plus the soul crushing one she has with Adam. The raven boys all hold a special place in my heart (especially Ronan). They are so complex and dynamic and beautiful. I agree wholeheartedly with this quote:

“In that moment, Blue was a little in love with all of them. Their magic. Their quest. Their awfulness and strangeness. Her raven boys.”

I think the second installment of The Raven Cycle surpasses the first. So much is jam packed into this novel from plot and character development to the delicious new bad guys and some who may be allies. For fans of The Raven Boys, you will not be disappointed, Maggie Stiefvater goes above and beyond. I can’t wait to see where Blue Lily, Lily Blue takes us. I have so many theories about who, what, when, where and why. I can see why so many people are in love with this book, and it’s starting to grow on me. I just wish some of the fluff was cut out so we could get back into the action. But, I have this feeling, I may be eating my words because I’m sure they will all become relevant in the end.

Leave a Reply

