Book Review:: Yellow Brick War – Danielle Paige

tumblr_o3f481THvK1sorkp9o1_540Date started: July 12, 2016

Date ended: July 17, 2016 

Stars: ★★★★

GAHHHHHH!!! MARCH 2017?!

WHYYYYY????

I honestly hate when authors do this, they say oh, this will only be a trilogy (which, by the way, MEANS ONLY 3 BOOKS!), then they see how well the series is doing sales wise and BAM! There’s all of a sudden a fourth book. Sylvia Day did that with the Crossfire series, Veronica Roth, kind of did that with Divergent, E L James did this when she published Grey. It’s frankly downright annoying. Yes, there is a part of me that is excited because I don’t have to say goodbye to these characters or the world that has captured my mind, body, and soul, but when you start a series expecting closure after 3 novels, it feels like the rug has been yanked out from under me.

Enough ranting, sorry, I just had to get that off my chest. I was ¾ of the way through Yellow Brick War when I noticed that there were only 50 pages or less left and so much in the story still had to happen. I was apprehensive about finishing because I was worried that Danielle Paige was going to pull a fast one. (Fast one = a shit ending because she was on a deadline and had to get it on paper). I’m glad she didn’t but at the same time, don’t make me wait till 2017! Especially not when you’re starting a new series! Focus on one, and then move on!

Yellow Brick War starts where The Wicked Will Rise left off. I love that there was a twist within the first 5 pages of the book. I knew that it was going to be an incredible ride from there on out. The pace was good, no dull bits in this baby. It mixes our real world, with the world of OZ, sometimes so well, you can’t tell the difference between them. I liked that Paige brought back characters from Dorothy Must Die and integrated them into the overlying plot. It didn’t feel forced, that’s part of the reason I thought that this was the end. Everyone was in the same room and the murderer was about to be revealed. Sorry, a little Agatha Christie humor there.

Also, I didn’t think there could be any more character development, but I was wrong, again. Amy grew into a better Amy, being challenged by not having magic, to having an all-consuming magic that could possibly destroy her. Nox, God love him, got even sexier and interesting. I love the chemistry between them. It’s not forced but it definitely became a more prominent piece of the story. In The Wicked Will Rise, there were hints of annoying all-consuming teenage romance, but it was separated by kick-ass action and world in peril moments. I think that’s a normal balance, but in this third installment, Amy was all about the Nox, and Nox took witch in shining armor to a whole new level. There are cute parts of stolen kisses between them and the end of OZ and the world we know.

Processed with VSCO with a8 preset

I also love the ominous feeling of everything. You get the sense that the witches aren’t telling Amy everything, you get that Nox might not be telling the witches everything. Is Dorothy dead? Is Glinda dead or does she live on in someone else? Is Ozma really back and back for good? Will Oz survive and thrive under her rule? These are all questions that need to be answered and ASAP.

Danielle Paige, I have you on a deadline, and if The End of OZ isn’t in my hands on March 14th 2017, I’m not going to be a happy camper. But in all seriousness, PLEASE  get it to me sooner!! Xoxo

 

Leave a Reply

