Book Review:: Blue Lily, Lily Blue – Maggie Stiefvater

tumblr_oamllgfpi41upztx4o1_1280Date started: July 23, 2016

Date ended: August 1,2016 

Stars: ★★★★★

I GET IT! OH MY GOD, OKAY, FINE! I’LL ADMIT IT!

I, Dana Wallace, am officially in love with The Raven Boys and The Raven Cycle. It only took three books, but I’m hooked. I love all the characters, I genuinely care about them and their wellbeing. I think Blue Lily, Lily Blue was the turning point because so much of the characters true colors come out. There’s self-realization, there are overcoming obstacles (whether personal or socially), there’s friendship and heartache, there’s caring beyond the physical for every character. I can’t really put it into words, but this book just hit me like a ton of bricks and I cried. I laughed. I was filled with joy and dread. I’m cracked like Humpty Dumpty and can never be put back together. These characters will haunt me and I will love them for eternity. God, I feel like this is a friggin diary entry. I blame you, Stiefvater. But thank God, I can finally relate! I understand everyone! I think I’m going to name my firstborn son, Gansey.

Moving on from the swooning, the plot thickens, ever so thoroughly! No dull points here, I would’ve read it faster had I not had to work, but alas. There’s not much I can say that won’t ruin the overall premise of the novel and I won’t do that to you. I will say that one of the things I have loved throughout all three of The Raven Cycle novels is Virginia. I’m biased, I will admit, I was born and raised in this glorious state, so it will always hold a special place in my heart. But one thing that Stiefvater does flawlessly is set the atmosphere. No, Henrietta, Virginia is not a real place, but even I can’t tell what’s real and what’s not. I used to commute to Northern Virginia (I now live up here) from Charlottesville, but as I was driving I would imagine that just over that hill was Henrietta and Blue and the boys were causing mischief. It’s so relatable for me because I know most of Virginia like the back of my hand. It makes the story come alive, and that’s a truly amazing thing for an author to accomplish. I don’t know if it’s the same for everyone NOT from Virginia, but for me, I think that’s something that made me fall in love.

I smell mint leaves in my sleep.

tumblr_o1wl8xpOMN1tuqkmto1_1280

I love how this mixes the old and the new. The dreadful and the beautiful. There is heartbreak, I’m sorry to tell you friends, but honestly, what good book doesn’t cause tears? There are mysteries and still unanswered questions. People you thought were dead are not as they seem, and Glendower still remains asleep. Who will find him first? What will the favor be? Will all our heroes and heroines live to tell the tale?

I’m heading to a bookstore tonight to get my copy of The Raven King because I can’t wait for the answers.

Leave a Reply

