Book Review:: Cress – Marissa Meyer

tumblr_ny8mia6XPw1rbywgfo1_540Date started: August 2, 2016

Date ended: August 9, 2016 

Stars: ★★★★★

I CAN’T BELIEVE I WAITED THIS LONG TO READ THIS SERIES!

IT’S SOOOOOO GOOD! I CAN’T GET ENOUGH!

Okay, I can breathe now. I just had to get that out, but damn, Marissa Meyer knows how to weave a story thoroughly and throughout. There are so many twists and turns and the way the characters mesh and the plot flows … *sigh* magnifico. 

I don’t even know, where to begin with this one. There’s so much that happens in Cress: love, intrigue, torture, despair, hopelessness. This baby has it all. The pacing in this novel is the best I’ve seen of this series. Don’t get me wrong, I love Cinder and Scarlet, but there isn’t a moment of peace in Cress. From the get-go, the reader is on a roller coaster. The book is

A thing I really liked about Cress is our main character. This is difficult to say because the story doesn’t mainly focus on one sole person. It tends to flip flop around from different POVs. But Cress, herself, is much different than our stronger, more outspoken heroines from the past two novels. She is sweet and innocent, but will stand up for herself and those she likes (maybe even loves). She is so oblivious sometimes, to the world around her, because she’s been cooped up in a satellite, but this itself makes her more lovable.

tumblr_o9gm84uWkw1vseuogo1_1280

The thing I loved most about this novel can be summed up in one sentence: I think I am just in love with Captain Thorne! He’s such a hilarious, unconventional love interest and I welcome every scene he is in. He kind of gives off a Gilderoy Lockhart vibe. Good-looking, self-obsessed, hilarious, lovable and so full of it. His comments in dire situations had me laughing out loud. He is the comic relief of the novels, yet, someone I’d want on my team in order to save the universe.

There’s so much that I love about this book and The Lunar Chronicles that I could go on forever, but I will spare you. I can’t wait for the next installment, Winter, but first, I think I will read Fairest. I’m curious to know more about Levana and what makes her tick. I was told to read this after Cress or else somethings wouldn’t make sense. I’m so excited for these next novels but so sad that I’m coming close to the end of this series. I might have to put off read them for a week or so …

WHO AM I KIDDING! GIVE ME MORE!

Leave a Reply

