Temptation is My Weakness

I’m not very good at containing myself when it comes to books. I’ll admit it, but I won’t go to rehab for it because I’m not sorry. Life is too short. I started out this year wanting to finish all the series that I had started from years past. Well, I’ve made headway on that list, but I’ve also had to trim some series off that list as well. So, with that said, I only have 56 more books to read to complete my New Years resolution!

tumblr_oa3vmcXQqZ1tg14iwo1_1280But, another part of that resolution was to not start any new series unless it was reading the Royal’s book of the month. Well, if you follow my book reviews, you can see how well that’s going. It’s laughable at how unfocused I am when it comes to new books and novels with pretty covers. I’ve been pretty diligent at finishing the ones I’ve started this year, but some had loopholes and last minute books added to their series. But I’m trying to get better day in and day out.

That being said, HA, I’ve caved and started read A Court of Thorns and Roses! Guys! I couldn’t help it! It was either that or having to continue to dodge spoilers all over the internet, and I hate spoilers and didn’t want to live my life that way. I can tell you all right now, I’m 30% of the way through it and I’m in love! I listen to it in my car on the way to work and then when I’m at home I read my copy! It’s putting me behind on my other reading. I highly recommend it to you all. If you love faeries, Beauty and the Beast retellings, and strong female characters you have got to get a copy of Sarah J. Maas’s A Court of Thorns and Roses.

tumblr_o7jglmv4Px1u3m1i9o2_1280I’m also reading The Crown’s Game by Evelyn Skye! I couldn’t wait to get my paws on this one when a good friend of mine recommended it to me. One of my favorite books of all time is The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern and ever since I finished that book, it’s haunted me. I’ve been searching for a book similar to its nature to cure the hole in my heart it left. So, no pressure Evelyn Skye, but you have big boots to fill but from the 130ish pages that I’ve read so far, I’m pretty content and excited for the rest. Not a lot has happened but all the main characters are a joy and yes, WE HAVE A STRONG AND WITTY AND CHARISMATIC HEROINE! There’s not a lot of things I love more than a strong female lead in Young Adult novels. I think we have a winner here ladies and gentlemen. But stay tuned for that review. It should be coming within a week to a week and a half depending on my work schedule and how much time I devote to ACOTAR. But I’m extremely thrilled that I have two great novels in my possession at the moment. This reader is a happy camper.

Last but not least, I have (finally) started Sula’s Voyage by Catherine Torres who was gracious enough to send me a copy of her first YA novel. I’ve only had time to read the first couple of chapters but I’m intrigued to see what journey it will take me on.

That’s all for now, folks!

xoxo

Leave a Reply

