Book Review:: A Court of Thorns and Roses – Sarah J Maas

tumblr_oauhvsuyWy1udyobqo2_1280Date started: August 10, 2016

Date ended: August 17, 2016 

Stars: ★★★★★

Get ready for the gush, because this is love at first book. I’m speechless by the sheer beauty of this novel. I went into reading this thinking I would like it because it’s loosely based on my favorite fairy tale (Beauty and the Beast), but honestly, I didn’t think I would LOVE it this much. I understand all the gush and fandom of this series because I am now a part of it.

From the very beginning, I was hooked. Though the beginning was a little stunted with all the talk about the cold, the hunger, and how bad life was, but there’s a reasoning behind it. You have to feel and understand the dire situation that Feyre, our kick-ass heroine, is living in. I thought of the detail of the beginning to the beginning of The Hunger Games, where we the reader need to understand the surrounds of our story to better know our heroine. But I’ll admit, it got a little tedious, but holy guacamole, when the action started, the action STARTED and never stopped.

The character development in this novel is stunning. There’s growth throughout every person mentioned, from secondary characters to the main ones, I feel like I know them inside and out. I love Feyre (awkwardly enough, I’ve added that name to my list of baby names for someday), she’s so raw and real, but I feel as if I understand her. Everything she does, whether bitterly or angrily, she does out of love. I can completely relate to that. I would do anything for my family, so would Feyre. But I can understand her frustration of all of her giving and all she ever sees is people taking from her and never giving in return. I see why it was so hard for her to open up to Tamlin, Alis, or Lucien. She’s guarded, I think this is what is a little off-putting to readers.

tumblr_oaq8p6D7O61u3peimo1_1280Then again, I love most all of our characters in ACOTAR. I loved to hate our villain, Aramantha, which I don’t think has happened since way back in the Dolores Umbridge days. She’s cunning and tricky, ruthless and pure evil, it was magnificent. The only character that I don’t get, but I can see why other people love him, is Rhysand. He’s brooding and dark, the bad-boy stereotype. So, I get why people are Team Rhysand but it’s not for me. It’s why I was never Team Edward, I don’t like men like that. I find them, annoying. Maybe all the hype is from A Court of Mist and Fury and I don’t understand yet, but I can tell you right now, this girl is Team Tamlin.

The romance was a nice touch in this novel. It wasn’t over the top or in your face until the end, but by then, you felt the love yourself. There were a few scenes that got me a little hot and bothered and I had to make sure I hadn’t picked up one of my romance novels, but it was sensuous and well written. It wasn’t gaudy or crass, it was filled with tender lovemaking that was a beauty to read, though I wouldn’t recommend this book for anyone under the age of 16, personally.

Overall, I love ACOTAR and I’m heading to my local bookstore after work to pick up A Court of Mist and Fury  but first, I have to be diligent and read two of my Royal books before I dig into the contents. Wish me Godspeed!

Leave a Reply

