Book Review:: Ella Enchanted – Gail Carson Levine

tumblr_o2uaxpC6tJ1v66baso1_1280Date started: August 24, 2016

Date ended: August 27, 2016 

Stars: ★★★★

I picked up Ella Enchanted not expecting much. I admit,  I watched the movie before I read the book, so I was extremely surprised at how much I enjoyed Ella Enchanted. I picked up this book because it’s part of the 25 books every girl should read before she turns 25. It’s a quick read and part of the reason I finished it in less than two days, but I couldn’t put it down. The world and characters that Gail Carson Levine created stay with you even after you close the book.

Ella Enchanted is a cute, feel-good retelling of Cinderella with a kick-ass heroine that I can’t wait to introduce to my daughter(s) if I ever have kids. She is strong, quirky, and independent her only flaw is that she is cursed with obedience. This may not, at first glance, sound like a curse at all, but it is. It is complete obedience, not just to her parents but anyone and everyone. A very scary thing when you begin to think about it. Even though she is cursed, she doesn’t let that get her down. She still has adventures, friends, and a life. She is kind and thoughtful, never rude to the servants or even to her stepfamily who are horrid. I liked Ella a lot, she is a good role model for young girls (and older ones at that) to have.

I liked that there was romance but it wasn’t how Ella found meaning in her life. I also liked that this romance came from a friendship and then bloomed into love. I feel that’s the best thing for relationships to start as. I also liked that when Prince Charming came to rescue her from the cinders, Ella, still being cursed, would not accept his proposal because it would put him in mortal peril. Strength, courage, and true love.

I will highly recommend Ella Enchanted to those young and old. Ella is a great YA heroine to give to young girls. It shows that no matter what situation life deals you, you can still have a wonderful life, be kind, and a genuinely good person.

Leave a Reply

