Book Review:: Three Times Lucky – Sheila Turnage

Date started: August 29, 2016

Date ended: September 2, 2016 

Stars: ★★★★★

This is probably the most well-written book I’ve read in awhile. Overall, it’s just plain fun. Every single character is well thought out and detailed. The atmosphere is a southern joy, a town in which everyone knows each others business and everyone is in each others business. It’s like one big family. The plot was twisting and turning, I thought I’d be able to figure out the murder mystery of a children’s book but nope! Turnage keeps the reader guessing right down to the last page.

My favorite character has got to be, hands down, Miss Moses ‘Mo’ LoBeau. She’s a quirky rising sixth grader who doesn’t take no bull for no one. She’s been raised by Miss Lana and the Coronal, who own a quaint cafe, after being washed ashore in a hurricane. She is a strong, hardheaded, and independent 11-year-old that, if I ever have a daughter, I hope she turns out just like Mo. Like I said before, this book is full of laughs, mystery, fun, and Southern comfort. I think Goodreads said it best:

TTL“Full of wisdom, humor, and grit, this timeless yarn will melt the heart of even the sternest Yankee.”

I was recommended this book by a good friend who actually had to read it for an English class. She told me that the main character reminded her of me. I was beyond flattered when I learned all about Mo. She’s feisty and everything I hope I am. I’m excited that there are two more books that graces these characters. I can’t wait to go on more adventures with Miss Moses LoBeau and her trusty sidekick, Dale Earnhardt Johnson III.

Leave a Reply

