Book Review:: The Sin Eater’s Daughter – Melinda Salisbury

Date started: August 26, 2016

Date ended: September 8, 2016 

Stars: ★★★★★

JULY PICK FOR THE ROYALS BOOKCLUB

Wow, between The Sin Eater’s Daughter and Red Queen my emotions are all out of whack. I can’t even comprehend real life right now. Both of these series but The Sin Eater’s Daughter is haunting, in a good way though. Simply from the premise of the story, the atmosphere, and our leading lady. Betrayal, lies, and romance, this book has it all.

First of all, I love Melinda Salisbury’s writing style. She just has a way with words and can weave the prettiest of illustrations. As a reader, I was immediately transported and drawn into the novel and the story. The story flips back and forth between past and present, which adds depth to the characters and world. The characters are wonderful as well.

tumblr_nuhfxhw2gd1tjbcwno1_1280Our main heroine is not what you’d expect. She’s timid, mild, and yet still a bad ass. Her touch can instantly kill anyone, so she is a weapon that the kingdom utilizes to instill fear and wonder to its citizens. Twylla is also to be the next queen of this kingdom, betrothed to the prince. All she has know is solitude and slavery to a kingdom who has done nothing but take from her. I liked Twylla because she was not the typical heroine that we see in most YA novels now a days. She is not outspoken or overly strong, but she is independent and a threat to reckon with. She’s a new kind of heroine, but still a good one.

Like with most good stories, I don’t want to spoil anything but there’s not a lot that I can say without doing that. Needless to say, I finished this book at 2 AM and had work the next morning early. I finished the book and immediately grabbed my phone and purchased the second, The Sleeping Prince. Should get here by Wednesday! I can barely contain my excitement (I might just not try).

Leave a Reply

