Book Review:: Winter – Marissa Meyer

tumblr_nxmwxyybs91unufdjo1_1280Date started: August 31, 2016

Date ended: September 17, 2016 

Stars: ★★★★★

I want to cry. I can’t believe it’s all over. What a ride! It was so beautiful. To be honest, the size of the book was daunting when I picked it up. Then, when I thought back to0 everything that needed to happen and

To be honest, the size of the book was daunting when I picked it up. Then, when I thought back to0 everything that needed to happen and resolved, I thought it was too small. But, in actuality, it was perfect. I already have Stars Above in my possession, but I need some time to recuperate.

There’s not much I can say about Winter without spoiling the book. There was so much tension, or at least, for me, when reading this because I didn’t know what kind of author Marissa Meyer was going to be. There are some authors who love their characters and won’t kill them off. There are others who also love their characters but will murder them all the same – JK Rowling / George RR Martin please stand up. So I had a lot of anxiety and sadness and then panic at the end when it looked like Hamlet. There was some loss, but everything turned out for the best in the end.

The characters are all lovely and wonderful. I think the part I love the most about these books is how intertwined everything is. Like yes, there is “one” main character for each book but it is flawlessly mixed with all the other characters. Sometimes, I think, if it’s a split POV book with a lot of characters, an author will spend too much time on one character until the reader is practically begging for the other side of the story. I never got that vibe reading The Lunar Chronicles. Though I still think Captain Thorne is my favorite. He’s my person.

Overall, I was originally going to give this book four stars around the halfway mark because I was a little bored. Then by the end of the book, I saw why it was necessary. I can see why authors get fed up with readers, because either the book is too long or too short, the plot moves too slow or too fast. I am a guilty party. I just love these characters and want the story to never end and for them to never leave me, but I know it must. At the end of the book, Winter earned five stars and two thumbs up. I will highly recommend this entire series to people of all ages. It’s the classic fairytales we all grew up with but with a fresh new twist.

tumblr_obecw9hywh1ubfclzo1_1280

Leave a Reply

