Book Review:: Death Comes to Pemberley -PD James

fullsizerDate started: October 10, 2016

Date ended: November 11, 2016 

Stars: 

I tried guys, I really tried. My aunts (one who has been an English teacher for many years) recommended this book highly because they, like me, love Pride & Prejudice. I was looking forward to diving back in Jane Austen’s world and revisting my old friends. That part of the novel I enjoyed. The story, not so much. I had to resort to my rules for difficult books. These are the rules I hold myself to before I stop reading a book. Some of them are:

  • Must read more than 100 pages
  • Read the book for more than a month
  • If reading is difficult, listen to the audiobook

There are more rules, but these were the ones I enacted while reading Death Comes to Pemberley. Needless to say, I did not finish this novel. I was severly disappointed too because PD James is a highly acclaimed author and a master of mystery. It seemed like a great idea, but the pace and the tone of the novel was very underwhelming. It felt like the story was going around in circles and the plot was stagnant.

I did like the fillers that James offered about what the Bennett girls had been doing for the last 6 years. That part of the novel was fun, because it allowed the readers to reconnect with the characters and picture the lives after Pride & Prejudice. But that was about the only enjoyable part I found with this novel. I feel slightly guilty because since it was a murder mystery novel and I, as a reader, absolutely had to know who the killer was skipped to the end and read whodunit. I have never done that before in my life!  So now, I feel unaccomplished and guiltridden. I will never turn down a retelling or extension of Pride & Prejudice but I will not be recommending Death Comes to Pemberley to others.

Leave a Reply

