Book Review:: A Midsummer Night’s Scream – RL Stine

tumblr_mq26ziidza1s9ucjpo1_400Date started: October 22, 2016

Date ended: November 17, 2016 

Stars: 

“If we shadows have offended,

Think but this, and all is mended,

That you have but slumbered here

While these visions did appear.

And this weak and idle theme,

No more yielding, but a dream …”

– William Shakespeare, A Midsummer Night’s Dream

Sweet Jesus, that was probably one of the worst works of fiction I have ever laid eyes on. I wish it had only been a dream and that I could forget all about it. I’m actually so proud of myself that I finished it. Well, maybe not, I should’ve given up a long time ago, but I was still holding out hope that somewhere, somehow the book would get better. I mean, as a 90s kid, I grew up reading Goosebumps and Fear Street and loved them. I’m scared to revisit them after reading A Midsummer Night’s Scream. There was no redeeming quality in any aspect of the novel. Now that might sound harsh but hear me out.

  • None of the characters were likable. I wanted to push them all down the stairs
  • The plot was lacking. Nothing happened until page 227 and THERE’S ONLY 249 PAGES IN THE ENTIRE BOOK! I had high hopes because the idea of the story is there but the execution was not.
  • The whole feel of the novel is juvenile. Yes, I know it’s YA fiction, but the narration and dialogue sounds like California valley girl. It was painful to read.
  • This was listed as horror, the only thing horrible about this is … well, everything.
  • RL Stine probably used the terms horror, horrible, horrific, horrendous, and horrifying over 500 times in 249 pages. Like, dude, get a thesaurus!
  • Everything was predictable. Yes, I know it was a retelling of A Midsummer Night’s Dream but c’mon, let’s get creative here. Naming someone Puckerman is just lazy. Gee, I wonder what character he is based on …

I’m not going to waste anymore time reviewing this book. It was dreadful, there was nothing I liked about it, except the cover. Oh, and that I bought this from BookOutlet and didn’t pay full price for it.

Leave a Reply

