Book Review:: Glass Sword – Victoria Aveyard

Processed with VSCOcam with hb2 presetDate started: November 11, 2016

Date ended: November 21, 2016 

Stars: ★★★★★

“If I am a sword, I am a sword made of glass, and I feel myself beginning to shatter.”

I’M TOO SHATTERED AFTER THAT ENDING

God, Victoria why must you do this to me! My heart is broken, there is nothing left to forgive you. I feel so depressed but excited. I can’t wait to see what King’s Cage holds for us. I totally didn’t see that ending coming, I was ready for a kick ass battle and then there was only humiliation. Damn, I’m sorry I can’t stop cussing, it was so good but I just feel defeated after the ending.

I love the character development from the first novel into the second. Sometimes in a trilogy (or any series) one book in the middle is lacking with plot or character development, but with Red Queen I can’t even  claim that. The beginning started off strong, toward the middle things did get a little hung up but it was all in preparation of the end, which was so strong and cliffhanging. I love seeing who the characters have become since Red Queen and it’s so far. There were parts that I loved who Mare had become, others not so much, but there was never a time I hated her even after she started her downward spiral. I think the reasoning is because of Aveyard’s writing. The reader knows who Mare Barrow is, so we can’t fault her for her anger and lashing out. It’s a coping mechanism and one I, personally, know all too well. I think it made me appreciate Mare even more. She didn’t ask for any of this. She was thrust into a position of power and had to learn how to adjust. Then she was betrayed by a man she loved and trusted. Of course she is going to be on edge and not trust anyone but herself, even then she can’t bring herself to do that.

“Mare, I am very afraid for you. Things have been done to you, things no person should suffer. You’ve seen horrible things, done horrible things, and they will change you. I’m so afraid for what you could be, if given the wrong chance.”

tumblr_o8b8xsmuom1uxd63to1_500

One person’s death had me reeling and then some other minor characters deaths. I couldn’t be consoled. The sad thing was I finished this book at a bar in between jobs. So I was alone, at the bar, sobbing, because of Aveyard. Yeah, embarrassing. But it couldn’t be helped.

I need February to come ASAP, I need King’s Cage in my life like 5 minutes ago. Any chance someone wants to send me an ARC to mend my broken heart?!

 

2 thoughts on “Book Review:: Glass Sword – Victoria Aveyard

Leave a Reply

