Book Review:: Illuminae – Amie Kaufman & Jay Kristoff

tumblr_oh27wbgxnm1vndizyo1_1280Date started: November 21, 2016

Date ended: November 26, 2016 

Stars: ★★★★

“Perhaps bravery is simply the face humanity wraps around its collective madness.”

I’m so glad I stuck with this book. At first I wasn’t sure I could and it wasn’t because the story wasn’t enticing or that I didn’t like the characters. No, it was something so trivial. It was the formatting and layout of the book. It takes some getting used too. My first thought was that it would be a quick read – which it was – but I didn’t expect emails, schematics, military files, IMs, medical reports, and interviews would give me such a headache at first. But I guess when you’re used to something and reading a book a certain way, this one will throw you through a loop.

But, like I said, I’m so pleased that I stayed in for the long haul because I ended up loving this book. I’m so glad I already have Gemina at home. The layout is the only bad thing I have to say about Illuminae. It was action-packed, the characters were lovable, and the story leaves you wanting more and more. Plus, that twist at the end left me saying DAAAAYYYUHHHMMMMM.

Speaking of the characters, I love Kady and Ezra. Their dynamic is wonderful and made me blush and pine and love because it was so pure and so natural. But it also wasn’t boring. Like there are some romances that still make you gush but there’s still a part of you saying geez, does the mush ever stop? Well, with Ez and Kady, it didn’t start out all love and rainbows. It starts with them being exes! And Kady, she’s a girl after my own heart. Fiercely protective and loving, she takes no shit and is upfront. You do her wrong and you’re on the list for life. But if she loves you, she’s loyal till death. She’ll fight until she has no breath left. And Ez, he’s just as loyal and just as lovable. He’s also a giant romantic teddy bear. The gush oozes from this guy, so cheesy but oh, so good!

“You deserve every star in the galaxy laid out at your feet and a thousand diamonds in your hair. You deserve someone who’ll run with you as far and as fast as you want to. Holding your hand, not holding you back.”

I also thought the character of AIDEN was interesting. It’s a AI that falls in love with a girl. LIKE WHAT?! At first it was a little creepy, because you think he’s the bad guy, but then the reader comes to see since he’s a computer, he is being manipulated by his creator. The only thing stopping him from killing everyone is this love for a girl. COMPUTERS SHOULDN’T KNOW EMOTIONS! But that’s what makes it soooooo interesting!

tumblr_o99h6amobk1tbgqkqo1_500

Definitely going to read Gemina before the end of the year and then be pining away for third in the new year. Knowing my luck the third novel won’t come out until December of next year … mon Dieu.

Leave a Reply

