Book Review:: Heartless – Marissa Meyer

tumblr_ohtsxersk51utwd95o1_540Date started: November 26, 2016

Date ended: December 11, 2016 

Stars: ★★★★★

“I pictured to myself the Queen of Hearts as a sort of embodiment of ungovernable passion – a blind and aimless Fury” – Lewis Carroll

Marissa Meyer has done it again.

Heartless is the perfect balance of whimsy and retelling. People can enjoy Heartless even if they did not prefer Alice in Wonderland. I was, not skeptical, but hesitant to start this book because Alice in Wonderland and the Queen of Hearts are two of my most favorite things, I know Marissa Meyer is an extremely talented writer but I do this with anything claiming to hold Wonderland. I just don’t want to read something that makes me dislike Lewis Carroll’s creation for a second. But, ladies and gents, Meyer blew it out of the park. My emotions were all over the board. The ending made me cry but made me feel like I understood the Queen more. I totally GET why she wants to behead everyone and why she is mad! Which is exactly what Meyer set out to do and she did it brilliantly.

I don’t want to ruin anything so I’m choosing my words carefully. The story is told through the POV of Cath. I wouldn’t say she’s a standout character, at least not from the beginning, but that fits her and what she wants in life. All Cath wants is to open a bakery with her friend (and maid), Mary Ann. But since she is the daughter of a noble family, she is expected to attend court and ultimately, become queen. With the deck stacked against her, enter Jest the sexy, mysterious joker who has appeared in Cath’s dreams (literally) and steals her heart. I like the growth we can see in Cath from the beginning to the end. In the beginning, she is a shy, stubborn girl and at the end, she is fit to be a queen. This growth does not come easy and there is a ton of heartache and disappointment, but that’s life!

Heartless is a wickedly delicious read, but I was sad by how fast it went. The story starts a little slow but as soon as you get to the tea party, the mad ride begins. It reminded me of the start of Alice in Wonderland, in the meadow with Dinah and Alice. It brought a smile to my face when I noticed that, I don’t think it was intentional. The ending left me wanting more, but not because the book feels unfinished just that all great books should leave a reader wanting more.

I can’t wait to see what else Meyer publishes in the future.

Leave a Reply

