Book Review:: Suspicion – Alexandra Monir

tumblr_o0lgtqjeqg1u4mwu3o1_1280.jpgDate started: December 11, 2016

Date ended: December 15, 2016 

Stars: ★★

Suspicion is a really hard book to review. It had such great potential but blew it. There was the air of Rebecca by Daphne du Maurier and The China Garden by Liz Berry but in the end, it was just a great big hot mess. What I thought I was going to read was a supernatural mystery set in England in the early 19th century dealing with snotty aristocrats and a whole lot of family secrets turned out to be a 21st century teenage mystery with childish dialogue. Now, I might be being a little harsh but I had an idea of what I was going to read and right from the get-go it was wrong and that’s a little off putting. But when one gets to the end of a novel and sits there wondering what the hell was that all about?! I think I’m allowed to be a little critical.

I have not read any of Alexandra Monir’s other novels, Timeless is on my to read list but I’m a little wary of starting it. Personally, I thought the writing was a little juvenile and the plot went from 178 pages of nothing to holy shit the sky is fallingI wasn’t fond of our main character either, Imogen. She is, basically, a self-centered brat who can’t see past the nose of her own problems, which are minuscule to the greater world. She spends half her time worrying about what she should wear and then the other half obsessing over Sebastian. Gag is all I have to say about the romance in this novel. It’s so basic and FULL of teenage angst, I just couldn’t get into it. I didn’t like the main characters because they were very full of themselves and their problems.

Overall, there was a lot of potential that fell flat with Suspicion. I think it could’ve been a good book with a little more focus and editing. The writing needed a little oomph and pizzazz and with a lot of counseling and therapy, the characters might be salvaged. I gave this book two stars because towards the end the plot started to pick up and I got interested and engaged but then at the end the story flopped. Like I said, I’m not taking Timeless off my to-read list but I’ll probably take a sabbatical before diving into its pages.

Leave a Reply

