Book Review:: Panic – Lauren Oliver

tumblr_ncs0h3crvi1teul8fo1_1280Date started: December 18, 2016

Date ended: December 23, 2016 

Stars: ★★

“Panic began as so many things do in Carp, because it was summer, and there was nothing to do.”

I might be being harsh with my rating of Panic, but it just wasn’t for me. I guess I need to stop thinking I know what a book is going to be about before actually reading it. This was another case and mistake and identity, like with Suspicion.

I thought Panic would focus more on the game than what was happening in Carp and Heather’s life. I liked that the book switched between Heather and Dodge’s POV, that gave it a little more depth and made me feel like I was getting to know the characters more. But then at the same time, I felt that they fell a little flat.

But, my favorite thing was Panic. I liked seeing what I would be able to accomplish and what I wouldn’t. What could I have kept hidden to benefit me winning. Also, what I would do with my winnings. Would I have formed an alliance or would I have flown solo? This was the most entertaining part of the novel.

This aspect made me think of the first time I watched Saw and what I would be willing to do if I was put in the given situation. Panic was definitely more tame than Saw was but still it was fun to think about how brave or bold I would be.

This is a really short review but I just don’t have more to say. I wasn’t impressed with the story. The characters were interesting and I liked getting to know them and the motivation behind them competing in Panic. The writing was flawless and engaging, but I think some books aren’t meant for some people. That’s the overall vibe I get from Panic.

Leave a Reply

