Book Review:: The Kiss of Deception – Mary E. Pearson

tumblr_nxf5q5QWYv1rhq42eo1_1280Date started: December 23, 2016

Date ended: January 25, 2017

Stars: ★★★★

“Until one comes who is mightier, The one sprung from misery, The one who was weak, The one who was hunted, The one marked with claw and vine, The one named in secret, The one called Jezelia.”

I thoroughly enjoyed The Kiss of Deception and look forward to reading the rest of the series especially with the twist at the end of this book. Well, the whole book had twists and turns, some easy to guess and others, not so much. But there were certain aspects of this book that niggled me, hence only 3 stars. I would recommend this book to friends who love strong female leads, romance, and fantasy.

Normally, I complain about the pacing of a novel, yeah, well, I’m ADHD so throw me a bone here. I need something to capture me and drag me in from the very first word. This was not a problem for this novel. From the very start, I was enchanted. It starts with a runaway princess. Not only that, she runs away on her wedding day because she is denying her arranged marriage. Not only that, she’s stolen secret scrolls from her kingdom which causes her father to send bounty hunters after her! BOOM! We have intrigue plus a bad ass lead female, I am happy.

Though this happiness was short lived. Yes, she starts as a bad ass I-don’t-need-no-man-screw-you-dad character, though as soon as she gets her freedom, two men show up (one is the betrothed prince and the other is an assassin sent to kill her) and she is all up in her feelings about both of them. We are given a typical YA love triangle. Ickkkk … though Lia does choose one over the other but has moments where she questions if she choose the right one. Insert eye roll here.

The boys are fun and mysterious, Pearson never lets on who is who (the prince or the assassin) of course, she presents both Rafe and Kaden in certain lights trying to sway the opinion of the readers, at the end of the book you ares till guessing who is who. There are likable things about both males, though I like Kaden more than Rafe, but I think that’s how you’re supposed to feel. Kaden is portrayed as the sweet boy next door and Rafe is the bad boy your mama warned you about. Though both are likable and have deplorable characteristics which make them more realistic. I really liked all of the characters in this novel. The atmosphere is picturesque and magical, from the first chapter to the last, I was transported to a far off kingdom and didn’t want to return. I can only see the series getting better from here. The Kiss of Deception was a great baseline for a stellar series.

Leave a Reply

