Book Review:: The Star-Touched Queen – Roshani Chokshi

Date started: January 5, 2016

Date ended: January 28, 2017

Stars: ★★★

“He loved her. And she loved him. And in such bliss does devastation grow.”

So, I want to start this review by saying that I did enjoy this book but I feel like my review won’t read that way. I’m excited to see what else Chokshi will write in the future and I am planning on reading A Crown of Wishes which is a sequel to The Star-Touched Queen. But if I had to sum up this book in one word, I think the most fitting would be confusion. There were a few aspects that made this book so confusing and those items were some that I liked and some that I hated.

The first one and I think the largest problem is Chokshi’s writing style. Her writing is very poetic and beautiful, but it is so full of detail and creates great imagery that so much is thrown at the reader really fast. I got lost in the descriptions that when we would actually get back to the plot, I would still be in a stupor from the details. These details would add to the atmosphere but would not further the plot, so sometimes would cause things to seem stagnant and then the plot would accelerate too quickly. I think I ultimately ended up with whiplash and couldn’t keep up. Maybe it’s because I wasn’t familiar with mythology or I haven’t read enough poetry, but I don’t think that I’m alone in this thought process.

The other problem with this poetic writing is that 90 percent of the time I had no idea what was going on. I didn’t know if we were in a another world, another life, or during present day. It was a whirlwind of depiction but even with that I didn’t understand how the world worked, it was almost an oxymoron: there were so many details but there wasn’t enough specification. Even at the end when the truth was revealed, I don’t think I understood what happened leading up to the big reveal so I missed the significance. Unfortunately, the story never felt complete to me. In this case, the devil was the details.

tumblr_o6k66ouFvk1qba9pko1_1280

Finally, the last problem that irked me with The Star-Touched Queen was the romance between Amar and Maya. It’s supposed to be a soulmate love that extends through past and present lives but the love seemed forced almost like a instalove. Half the time, they were never together. Then the rest of the time, he hardly spoke to her and when he did, it was scolding. So when she started having feelings towards him I had to roll my eyes. Yes, I love when my man treats me like a child or insignificant.

Like I said at the beginning, this review won’t read like I enjoyed the story but I really did! The poetic writing was one of the things I like and hated. Because it created a whimsical and magical atmosphere that fit with the overall story. I just wish it had been executed more precisely. I look forward to reading the sequel and how things will progress.

Leave a Reply

